Attention.The Natural Resources Agency website is moving to a new hosting service on Friday, February 7th, 2020, at 6 PM PST. Service may be interrupted for a few minutes while the move takes place. The domain and URLs *will not* change.


Media Contacts:
Nancy Vogel, California Natural Resources Agency; 916-653-9402


Secretary Laird Appoints Members to Help Draft Revitalization Plan for the Lower Los Angeles River

April 5, 2016

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – California Natural Resources Secretary John Laird announced 37 appointments to the new Lower Los Angeles River Working Group, which was created by recent legislation to develop a revitalization plan for the Lower Los Angeles River and its tributaries.

“We’ve got an opportunity to reimagine a concrete channel that runs through California’s biggest urban center and bring parks, greenery, and wildlife to communities starved of such amenities,” said Secretary Laird. “I am excited to make appointments that reflect the community participation and technical expertise needed to deliver a revitalization plan for the Lower Los Angeles River.”

The Los Angeles River flows about 51 miles from its source near Canoga Park to its mouth in Long Beach. The Lower section of the river stretches 19.6 miles from the northern city limit of Vernon and flows within one mile of 14 other cities and 4 unincorporated communities before emptying into San Pedro Bay.

Starting in the 1930s, most of the river was lined with concrete to prevent flooding. Efforts to restore stretches of the river have gained momentum since the 1990s. To date, the State has invested nearly $240 million in bond funds for projects on the Upper and Lower River. In 2014, voters statewide approved a new water bond that includes $100 million for the Los Angeles River.

Last fall, Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. enacted AB 530 by now-Speaker Anthony Rendon (D-Paramount), which authorized the Secretary for Natural Resources, in coordination with the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, to appoint a local working group to develop a revitalization plan for the Lower Los Angeles River that is consistent with, enhances, and is incorporated into the County of Los Angeles’s Master Plan for the entire Los Angeles River. The Lower Los Angeles River working group will begin meeting in April and will be led by the San Gabriel and Lower Los Angeles Rivers and Mountains Conservancy.

Under this new law, Secretary Laird announced the following appointments to the Lower Los Angeles River Working Group:

Organization Name
Businesses, Chamber of Commerce Efren Martinez
City of Bell Councilmember Ali Saleh
City of Bell Gardens Councilmember Pedro Aceituno
City of Cudahy Councilmember Baru Sanchez
City of Downey Councilmember Sean Ashton
City of Huntington Park Mayor Graciela Ortiz
City of Long Beach Councilmember Al Austin
City of Los Angeles Carol Armstrong
City of Lynwood Councilmember Aide Castro
City of Maywood Councilmember Eduardo De La Riva
City of Paramount Councilmember Gene Daniels
City of South Gate Mayor Jorge Morales
City of Vernon Alex Kung
Conservation Corps of Long Beach Dan Knapp
Council for Watershed Health Chris Solek
East Yards Communities Mark Lopez
Friends of the LA River William Preston Bowling
From Lot to Spot Viviana Franco
Gateway Cities Council of Governments Long Beach Mayor Robert Garcia
Gateway Water Management Authority Christopher Cash
Heal the Bay James Alamillo
Los Angeles County Bicycle Coalition Tamika Butler
Los Angeles Neighborhood Land Trust Alina Bokde
Los Angeles Conservation Corps Dore Burry
LA County, Office of Supervisor Hilda Solis, 1st District Teresa Villegas
LA County, Office of Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas, 2nd District   Karly Katona
LA County, Office of Supervisor Don Knabe, 4th District Julie Moore
Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board Irma Muñoz
Prevention Institute Manal Aboelata
Public Counsel Christina Giorgio
Rio Los Angeles Maria Camacho
Office of the Speaker of the Assembly, Anthony Rendon, AD 63 Raul Alvarez
The Nature Conservancy Jill Sourial
Trust for Public Land Tori Kjer
Trails for All Jim Meyer
Urban Waters Federal Partnership Pauline Louie
Watershed Conservation Authority Debbie Enos
Watts Reimagined Frank O’Brien
Water Replenishment District Willard H. Murray